The Art World in 2019

Watch this video with course leader Susan J Mumford:


Instructors

  • Susan J Mumford

    Susan J Mumford

    Be Smart About Art Founder (and course "Starter")

    SUSAN J MUMFORD is a game-changer in the 21st Century art world. She’s an entrepreneur, mentor, speaker, moderator and author. While running her gallery in Soho, London, she founded the Association of Women Art Dealers (AWAD), an international non-profit membership network that facilitates business and collaborations with members operating to high professional standards. This was followed by the creation of Be Smart About Art, an online-accessible professional development platform based out of London that helps creative professionals thrive in a changing world. In late 2015, her first book was published: Art is your life. Make it your living. Based in Lewes, East Sussex, Susan works locally, in London, around the UK, the USA, Continental Europe and online, running workshops, lectures and courses, delivering 1-2-1 sessions, facilitating panel discussions, judging prizes and more.
  • Deborah

    Deborah "Debs" Henry-Pollard

    Course Coach (and course "Completer/Finisher")

    Debs works with creative professionals who are stuck or unclear on how to move forward, who she can help them in order that they can thrive. Her clients are at all stages of their creative careers. Debs' aim is to help you "light the blue touchpaper" which sends your fireworks into orbit, whether on single projects or the shape of your future development. She also has the desire that you discover that the skills and imagination which feed your creative work can also be used to be successful in other areas of your professional lives. She support you in creating clarity for yourself, fulfilling your potential, overcoming your fears and frustrations, helping you to develop your vision into a viable plan, and enhancing your creative freedom.

Course curriculum

  • 1
    Pre-course welcome module, including bonus videos to get a head-start
    • A big "WELCOME!" from Susan
    • Join the course community :-)
    • Survey: What excites you about the course?
    • Getting ready for the course in 3 steps
  • 2
    Module 1: The Art World Today... and the WHY that inspires you (Jan. 28)
    • Workbook // Module 1
    • Module 1 // Part 1: Identifying the WHY of your enterprise
    • Module 1 // Part 2: Clarifying your job title/s (to attract the right audience and be increasingly discoverable)
    • Module 1 // Part 3: Creating and expanding upon your Art World Pitch
    • Module 1 // Part 4: Business models... and how to know what's right for you
    • Module 1 // Part 5: Ongoing review & implementation
    • What are your tangible take-aways?
  • 3
    Masterclass #1 (LIVE): The Art Market Ecosystem - A visual explanation of the structure and how it's a shared experience (Feb. 5)
    • Watch the replay:
  • 4
    1st LIVE Coaching Call! (Mar. 5th @ 12-1pm PT / 3-4pm ET / 8-9pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 5
    Module 2: Clarifying your brand/s (!), voice and values (Mar. 18)
    • Overview
  • 6
    2nd LIVE Coaching Call! (Mar. 26 @ 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 7
    Module 3: Making Money Sense: Income streams, profit and forecasting (Apr. 1)
    • To be released...
    • Learn how to save money and increase profit using Foreign Exchange (Fx) in this webinar (to be released)....
  • 8
    Masterclass #2: Exhibiting art, featuring an artist & gallerist (Apr. 10 - LIVE - 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • To be released...
  • 9
    3rd LIVE Coaching Call! (Apr. 23 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 10
    Module 4: Writing, Speaking & Storytelling (think: press releases, sales emails & talks) (Apr 29)
    • To be released...
  • 11
    4th LIVE Coaching Call! (May 13 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 12
    Module 5: Websites, Blogs and Email Communication... aka content marketing! (May 20)
    • To be released...
  • 13
    Masterclass #3: Getting press & media coverage in the art world (Jun. 3 - LIVE - 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • To be released...
  • 14
    5th LIVE Coaching Call! (Jun. 11 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 15
    Module 6: Growing & galvanizing your online + offline audiences (think: networking and following-up) (Jun. 24)
    • To be released...
  • 16
    6th LIVE Coaching Call! (Jul. 8 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 17
    Module 7: Getting savvy with social media (featured: saving time + using video) (Jul. 22)
    • To be released...
  • 18
    Masterclass #4: Tackling Technology (Jul. 30 - LIVE - 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • To be released...
  • 19
    7th LIVE Coaching Call! (Aug. 7 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 20
    Module 8: Professional partnerships in the 2020s (artists + galleries + agents + curators + pr assistants... you name it) (Sep. 2)
    • To be released...
  • 21
    Masterclass #5: Creating fair contractual agreements (Sep. 10 - pre-recorded interview with Anthony Misquitta)
    • To be released...
  • 22
    8th LIVE Coaching Call! (Sep. 24 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
  • 23
    Module 9: Carrying on into the future... with systems for prioritizing and project management BOOM (Sep. 30)
    • To be released...
  • 24
    Masterclass #6: Selling & commissioning art - with an artist & gallerist (Oct. 7 - LIVE - 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • To be released...
  • 25
    9th LIVE Coaching Call! Oct 22 @ 9-10am PT / 12-1pm ET / 5-6pm UK)
    • Speakers: Susan J Mumford + Deborah Henry-Pollard
    • Course Finale Webinar (Nov. 11th @ 12-1pm PT / 3-4pm ET / 8-9pm UK)

Want to add 1-2-1 support?

*Upgrade to 'Accountability Checked' and add 6 x coaching sessions with Debs

  • $89 (approx £69) x 10 months

    'Self Starter': Access full course (9 modules + 9 group coaching calls + 6 masterclasses + Facebook Group)

    Continue with course
  • $135 (approx £105) x 10 months

    Course + 1-2-1 Accountability*

    Continue with course

Enrolment open through Monday, February 18th

1st module available Monday, January 28th